The Wolphard-Kakas House, located on the eastern side of the Union Square, at the intersection with Bulevardul Eroilor, was built in three stages, starting in 1534, until 1600. The Renaissance style prevails in the construction of the building.
It is a prototype for the architecture of that era. The first phase of construction bears the mark of the Gothic style, the second stage the north Italian Renaissance style, and the third is rather Baroque.
Inside a niche there’s is a sundial drawing dating from the 16th century, a unique dial in Transylvania, suggesting a semicircle to indicate the hours. In the middle of the semicircle, a thin steel rod was placed on a pillar, the shadow of which measures time according to the position of the sun in the sky.
The construction of the house began at the order of Adrianus Wolphard, first parish, then bishop vicar and counselor at the Royal Court in Budapest and was continued by his brother, Stephanus Wolphard, mayor of Cluj county, a renowned mathematician and astrologer.
The building was completed only after the death of Stephanus Wolphard, when his wife remarried Stephanus Kakas, a member of a Hungarian family who took refuge in Transylvania. Therefore, the building was named “Wolphard-Kakas”. Upstairs, the house had a room the ceiling of which had an astronomical zodiac.
From the building completed in 1600 only one part of the ground floor from the front yard remained untouched. The building was partially demolished in 1894. Some of the home decor items are nowadays kept in the Lapidary in the National History Museum of Transylvania.
Text preluat de pe visitclujnapoca.ro.2015-02-04